Installation is Addictive

Well, I haven’t posted here in a while. Not that anyone cares.

I have a great number of language compilers/interpreters installed on my computer; too many for my own good. The current list includes C, C++, C#, Java, Common Lisp, two implementations of Scheme, Python, Assembly, Ocaml, F#, Ruby, Prolog, Haskell, Tcl, and Perl, roughly in the order their program folders appear on the All Programs list. I’ve also worked with languages that I currently don’t have installed, such as J and Visual Basic. You might attribute this polyglotism to curiosity. I attribute it to laziness.

I haven’t done anything major since I finished my Tetris clone last summer; not a thing (of course, Tetris isn’t really a “major” project, what I mean is anything that you might have to actually think about for a little while). I’m much more concerned with using languages for my own amusement, rather than building anything useful with them. Perhaps it’s because the Windows installers feel so magical; there’s a certain indescribable pleasure to watching a program copy a zillion little configuration files, or uninstalling a program I no longer need.

At least there’s hope on the horizon. I’m currently writing an interpreter for a small language for writing text adventures in Common Lisp. The interesting thing about this project is that I’m actually writing code, and this code is actually working, and it’s actually doing something that’s actually interesting. Thanks, Lisp, for getting me out of a slump.

Now, I’ve heard of this new language called Epigram that’s supposed to have a really cool type system…

One Response to “Installation is Addictive”

  1. microsoft word 2007 Says:

    You really make it seem really easy with your presentation however I
    in finding this topic to be really one thing which I feel
    I might never understand. It sort of feels too complicated
    and extremely broad for me. I’m taking a look ahead on your next publish, I’ll attempt to get the cling of it!

Leave a Reply

